Luźne przemyślenia na temat nowych zasad w m14

Jak już część osób zauważyła wraz z m14 będziemy świadkami kolejnej zmiany zasad naszej gry, zmiany wpływającej na grę w stopniu znacząco wyższym niźli tylko ustalenie, iż „xyz” stanie się keywordem. Odbiło się to już echem wszechobecnego jęczenia na forum, co popchnęło mnie, by trochę zgłębić ten temat, gdyż mam wrażenie, że i w tym przypadku zadziałała zasada polskiego podejścia „najpierw whine, potem pomyślę”. Zanim przejdę do moich, podkreślam luźnych przemyśleń, zaznaczam, że opinia wyrażona w tym artykule nie odnosi się do ekhm… „formatu” zwanego EDH – tu z przyczyn oczywistych wpływ zmian jest znacznie większy. Moim celem nie jest również omówienie wszystkich zmian, a jedynie tych kontrowersyjnych z punktu widzenia gracza (sędziowie zapewne znajdą sobie w owych zmianach więcej tematu do dysput niż ja).

Oczywiście first things first:

Zmiany zostały opisane tutaj – W spoilerach poniżej prezentuję oryginalne teksty od WOTC:


The „Legend Rule”


Let’s dive in, shall we? The „legend rule,” rule 704.5k for those of you following along at home, is changing. Under the current rules, any time two or more legendary permanents with the same name were on the battlefield, they would all be put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action. Under the new rules, any time two or more legendary permanents with the same name are controlled by a player, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.

One way to think about it is the „legend rule” now looks at each player individually. It doesn’t matter what any other player controls. Clearly, this has a few play ramifications. If you control a legendary permanent, having another one enter the battlefield (by playing a second one or creating a copy of the first one) will leave you with one on the battlefield. It may be the old one. It may be the new one. That’s up to you.

Also, creating a copy of a legendary permanent controlled by another player will simply give you a copy. The one controlled by the other player won’t explode, won’t leave the battlefield, and really won’t be affected at all. Clones do what they were intended to do, which isn’t to be situational killing machines. Let’s look at two examples to see the new rules in action:

  • You control Teysa, Orzhov Scion. Your opponent enchants it with Pacifism. You cast another Teysa, Orzhov Scion. You choose the new one to remain on the battlefield. The one enchanted by Pacifism is put into its owner’s graveyard (and then so is the Pacifism).
  • Your opponent controls Ruric Thar, the Unbowed. You cast Progenitor Mimic, copying it. Both creatures may stay on the battlefield as long as they’re controlled by different players. After Progenitor Mimic‚s ability creates a token copy of Ruric Thar, you must choose one to stay on the battlefield. The other will be put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

I’ve recruited ace developer Sam Stoddard to write more about R&D’s motivations behind this change and the change to the „Planeswalker uniqueness rule.” You should check out his article here. Oh, didn’t I mention the Planeswalker one? Well then…

The „Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule”


You didn’t think we were leaving our heroes out in the cold, right? Just giving the legendary permanents a shiny new upgrade? Because the Planeswalkers are coming along for the ride.

The „Planeswalker uniqueness rule” is getting a very similar update to what the „legend rule” got. The new rule 704.5j will state that if a player controls two or more Planeswalkers that share a Planeswalker type, that player chooses one and the rest are put into their owner’s graveyards as a state-based action. Again, you no longer have to worry about what other players control. Let’s look at a couple of examples:

Again, Sam’s article has much more information on these changes. Check it out here. And I really can’t stress enough: these changes aren’t in effect until July 13 in live tournaments and July 29 on Magic Online.

Sideboards in Constructed Tournaments


We’re also making an adjustment to sideboard composition in Constructed tournaments. Previously, your main deck was sixty or more cards and your sideboard was either fifteen cards or zero cards, indicating you weren’t using a sideboard. With the new rule, your main deck is still sixty or more cards but your sideboard is now up to fifteen cards. Additionally, you are not required to swap cards between your main deck and sideboard on a one-for-one basis. For Games 2 and 3 (and so on), as long as your main deck is sixty or more cards and your sideboard is no more than fifteen cards, you’re good. This change makes sideboarding in Constructed and in Limited closer.

The real benefit of this change is the following scenario, which is all-too-common at more competitive events: after Game 1, you bring in some cards from your sideboard, shuffle up, present your deck, and you discover you’ve presented a sixty-one-card deck. There are fourteen cards in your sideboard and you’ve just received a game loss.

Under the new rules, what you did in that scenario is legal and you can go about playing Magic. Here’s a chart to demonstrate what’s legal and not under the new rules (listed as main deck/sideboard):

Game 1 Subsequent Games Legality
60/15 60/15 Legal
60/15 61/14 Legal
60/15 75/0 Legal
75/0 60/15 Legal
60/10 63/7 Legal
250/15 60/205 Illegal
60/15 50/25 Illegal


We expect most players will continue to play sixty cards in the main deck and fifteen in the sideboard, but some interesting variations are possible.

Indestructible Promoted to Keyword


I frequently get asked why indestructible isn’t a keyword. The answer has always been because it doesn’t need to be. It’s just an English word with a definition, slightly modified for use in Magic. Compare it to something like deathtouch, which carries all sorts of rules baggage. Indestructible simply meant „can’t be destroyed.”

And while these reasons are good and noble and true, it didn’t match the reality that players didn’t get it. Heck, even most of R&D didn’t get it. Many people assumed it was a keyword. Well, as Mark Rosewater often reminds us, „Bananas suck.” No, wait, that’s not it. „You can’t fight human nature.” There we go. So, starting with the Magic 2014 Core Set , indestructible is now a keyword. It will appear by its lonesome on permanents that naturally have it and in abilities like „target creature gains indestructible until end of turn.”

Why does this matter? Well, for the most part it doesn’t, but it can be different in two cases:

Case 1: A permanent is made indestructible by another spell or ability (for example, Withstand Death), and then it loses all abilities. Previously, it would still be indestructible, because that was just something true about the permanent. It wasn’t an ability the permanent had. With the change, the permanent will no longer have indestructible.

Case 2: Creatures (or permanents) you control are made indestructible until end of turn by a spell or ability (for example, Boros Charm). Previously, a creature that came under your control after that spell or ability resolved would be indestructible, as that spell or ability didn’t change the characteristics of any creature. With the change, that new creature won’t have indestructible as it wasn’t under your control at the right time to gain it.

A little more than sixty cards will be receiving the new template and functionality.

Unblockable Demoted to Definitely Not a Keyword

And when people ask about indestructible, unblockable is usually not far behind. One might expect it to get a similar upgrade to keyword, but alas, one would be mistaken. Here’s the thing: there are actually many variations on unblockable. There are cards like Barrenton Cragtreads, Firefright Mage, Goblin War Drums, and several others. It would be strange and counterintuitive if unblockable functioned like a keyword but all the subsets of unblockable didn’t. So, to alleviate confusion as to why unblockable isn’t a keyword, we’re going to make it more obvious that it isn’t by changing its template to „can’t be blocked.” As you’ve seen, the words „can’t be blocked” were used on cards already, so this change seemed very natural. Please note this is a change in template only. No cards will functionally change.

Playing Additional Lands


Did you know that right now (assuming you’re reading this article before July 13, when these rules changes take effect), whenever you play a land, if more than one rule or effect allows you to play that land, you must specify which rule or effect you’re using? Yeah, most people didn’t. In practice, this means that if you control something like Oracle of Mul Daya and play a land, the correct play is to specify that this is your additional land for the turn. Furthermore, you could then bounce the Oracle and recast it. Then you could play an additional, additional land. You could then go on to play your land for the turn. What a mess.

With the Magic 2014 Core Set , we’re introducing a new system for playing lands that focuses on the number of land plays you have. Any time you want to play a land for any reason, if you’ve used all your land plays for the turn, then you can’t play the land. By default, you have one land play on each of your turns. Spells or abilities can add to this number. So can permanents that allow you to play additional lands, but if these permanents leave the battlefield, those additional land plays disappear.

As before, you can take a special action once on each of your turns during either main phase to play a land. A spell or ability may also instruct you to play a land as part of its resolution (for example, the activated ability of Djinn of Wishes). No matter how you’re playing the land, it uses up a land play. If you’re out of unused land plays for a turn, you can’t play a land. And just like before, you can never play a land if it isn’t your turn.

Here are some examples:

  • You start your main phase with one land play. You play a land. You then activate Djinn of Wishes, revealing a land. You have no unused land plays, so the revealed land can’t be played.
  • You start your main phase with one land play. You activate Djinn of Wishes, revealing a land. You play that land. You then want to play another land (by taking your once-a-turn special action). However, you have no unused land plays, so you can’t play another land this turn.
  • You start your precombat main phase while controlling Oracle of Mul Daya. You have two land plays. You play a land. Then Oracle of Mul Daya dies during combat, so you’re back to one land play and it’s been used. During your postcombat main phase, you can’t play another land.
  • You start your precombat main phase while controlling Oracle of Mul Daya. You have two land plays. You play a land. Then the Oracle is returned to your hand, so you again have one land play, and it’s been used. You recast Oracle of Mul Daya, and you have two land plays again, one of which you’ve used. You can now play a second land.

Most of the time, it’s a simple question of asking how many lands you’ve played in a turn and figuring out how many you’re allowed to play. It doesn’t come up that often, but I believe when it does come up, the rules now behave in a more sensible manner.

Zmiany wchodzą 13 lipca IRL i 29 lipca Online.
legends heads

W pierwszej kolejności zastanówmy się nad zmianami dotyczącymi sideboardu.

Zmiana dotycząca ilości kart w nim zawartych jest jedynie z pozoru nieistotna. Myślę, że wszyscy fani spisywania decklist na kolanie się z tej modyfikacji bardzo ucieszą. Koniec łapania gamelossów za listę, która ma 14 kart w SB. Oczywiście nie jest aż tak różowo jak się wydaje i w większości przypadków będziemy łapać kary za to, że gramy spisem, który ma mniej kart w SB niż nasz deck box.

Kolejno, już trochę bardziej istotna zmiana, dotycząca techniki sideboardowania. Dostajemy możliwość zagrania 75 kartami z Millem, który i tak nie istnieje w kompetetywnym meta i nawet jakby zaczął to wsideowanie całej 15stki (zakładając, że nie ma w niej landów) zniszczy nasz mana curve i ilość landów w landach i niekoniecznie poprowadzi nas do zwycięstwa. Oczywiście więksi rozkminiatorzy mogą próbować dzięki tej zmianie uprawiać większą inżynierię krzywej mana. Przykład: wywalę 2 czy 3 karty o cmc 5, wsadzę 5 czy 6 kart o cmc 2 bo chcę być bardziej agresywny. Ogółem zwiększając ilość kart, zmniejszam procent landów w decku, ale zaraz to dobrze bo mam niższy mana curve. Oczywiście przykład bez poparcia konkretnymi kartami, ale chodzi o zobrazowanie możliwości. Ogółem oceniam zmianę na plus – cały czas trzeba będzie oczywiście uważać bo jak Marysia pamięta – zawartość cukru w cukrze jest bardzo ważna.

Po wskazaniu jak zmiany dotyczące SB mogą wpłynąć na grę części graczy przejdę do tematu, który wywołał największe kontrowersje. Planeswalkerzy i Legendy – omówię ich kolejno, poczynając od tych pierwszych.

Przyjrzyjmy się Planeswalkerom w T2

Nie tylko tym co grają obecnie, ale także tym z potencjałem. Mamy dwóch Garruków, dwóch Jace’ów, Domri Rade, Sorin Lord of Innistrad, Liliana of the Veil i może coś jeszcze. Teraz postawmy się w sytuacji, w której gramy mirrora. Nasz oponent zaczyna (jest słabszy od nas, więc przegrał pierwszą grę), i jako że jest z play zagrywa nam np. Jace, Architect of Thought albo Domri Rade i bezczelnie dobiera karty, po czym my zagrywamy swojego, żeby mu nie pozwolić mu na outdrawing do skutku. Wytapowujemy się i zabijamy jego Jace’a. Oddajemy turę, ale zaraz, czy ta gra nie idzie jakoś strasznie nie po naszej myśli? Nasz przeciwnik ma CA, my jesteśmy wytapowani i oddaliśmy mu turę, miodnie… i proszę, na obecnych zasadach w przypadku takiego mirrora nie mamy jak się wykazać tym, że wygramy pojedynek Jace’ów czy innego Walkera, gdy oponent zagrał go pierwszy. To jest pierwszy przykład na to, że nowe zmiany odnośnie PW są dobre. Kolejnym jest fakt, że w przeciwieństwie do obecnego stanu zasad unikniemy przynajmniej części sytuacji typu: „ja miałem jednego Jace’a, on miał trzechThinking”. Dzięki tej zmianie board zrobi się bardziej proactive. Oczywiście będziemy musieli się więcej postarać, żeby zabić Walkera, niż rzucając mu lustro, ale unikniemy również głupich gamestate’ów opisanych powyżej. Żeby nie było, że jestem totalnie bezkrytyczny, będą i sytuacje kiedy wolelibyśmy stare zasady. Taką sytuacją będzie np. moment kiedy obydwaj mamy Garruka, tyle że nasz oponent ma Garruk, Primal Hunter od dwóch tur, a my właśnie zczubiliśmy Garruk Relentless. Z drugiej strony, powiedzmy sobie szczerze, w większości takich przypadków i tak jesteśmy daleko z tyłu dzięki tym dwóm czy trzem turom przewagi przeciwnika. Temat, wygląda podobnie w modernie, tam mamy jeszcze Ajaniego, Elspeth i powiedzmy Gideona. Jednak nie widzę tu jakiejś tragedii odnośnie obecności dwóch takich samych PW w stole. Różnie może być w Legacy, przy dwóch JTMS i gazylionie brainstormów. Nie gram tego formatu i ciężko mi się w tym temacie rozpisywać, ale nie sądzę, by w Legacy teraz się grało tylko JTMS. Format jest na tyle rozbudowany, że w mojej ocenie laika nie powinien tego aż tak odczuć. A pojedynki miliona brainstormów pewnie i tak często wygra ten kto ma więcej odpowiedzi do dobrania, ale może się w tej kwestii mylę. Jeśli mówić o limited to problem dwóch Walkerów jest znikomy, a nawet jak się pojawi to dobrze, bo znowu mamy wiekszą szansę dogonić oponenta niż jakbyśmy tylko wymienili się naszego Walkera za jego Walkera, zostawiając go z szambernastoma kartami przewagi.

Odnośnie Legend

dwie świńskie lgendy na stole

Dwa Thruny

W standardzie grających legend mamy kilka: Geist of Saint Traft, Thalia, Guardian of Thraben, Aurelia, the Warleader i może coś jeszcze. Ja większego problemu w posiadaniu dwóch takich legend nie widzę. Geist – po zmianie zasad oponent jest od nas z przodu o tyle ile zrobił obrażeń zanim my zagraliśmy swojego. Od biedy możemy zablokować (ta karta wbrew pozorom nie ma napisane cannot block) i być z tyłu o 4 obrażenia więcej niż przy zasadach obecnych. W zamian dostajemy opcję ścigania się. Inna sprawa, że będzie problem powiedzmy w meczach hexbant vs uwr gdzie uwr może rzeczywiście nie mieć jak sobie poradzić ze zbuffowanym Geistem przeciwnika. W innych przypadkach nie widzę problemu. Thalia – jeśli gramy mirror aggro i ona tam jest tylko dla first strike to trzeba będzie grać lepiej niż oponent i już. Mało tego dostajemy nawet opcję wyjścia ze złej sytuacji kiedy przeciwnik ma Thalię i innych typków z T < 3 , a my właśnie Thalią musimy się obronić. Jeśli zaś gramy mecz z oponentem, na którego side’ujemy tego stwora bo on ma spelle, a my nie i widzimy, że też nam go zagrywa g2 czy g3 to tylko pogratulować mu inteligencji. Wpływu na grę większego takiego zagrania często jednak nie będzie. Aurelia – tak naprawdę jeśli nas przeciwnik nie zabił nią od razu to możliwość zagrania naszej daje nam realną opcję wygrania danej gry, bo będziemy mieli jakąś namiastkę opcji żeby go dogonić.

Następnie modern. Tutaj pojawia nam się znowu Geist, ponadto Vendilion Clique, Thrun, the Last Troll, Kiki Jiki, Emrakul, Melira i to chyba tyle, jeśli mówić o tych najważniejszych. Tu primo należy zaznaczyć, że część z wyżej wymienionych często i tak nam nie daje nawet chwili, by znaleźć odpowiedź inną niż kontra czy instantowy removal. Na forum szeroko ludzie narzekali na to, że klony (Phantasmal Image) nie będzie zabijał już Geista czy trolla.  Faktycznie nie będzie. Za to dostajemy swojego trolla, który mając źródło zielonej może blokować ich trolla w nieskończoność albo swojego geista do ścigania się. Pomijam już fakt, że te Image grają w ilościach jednego, czy dwóch po pierwszej grze, więc też ilość tych outów nie zmalała aż tak bardzo. Nawet jeśli uznać, iż proponowane przeze mnie rozwiązanie nie radzi sobie z trollem czy geistem oponenta. Outów nawet przy takim stanowisku nie tracimy 15 tylko 1 czy 2. Gracze podów mogą nam zacząć narzekać „ale image to ja fechtuje z poda więc outów tracę więcej” – odpowiadam – to graj stworem który ma wbudowany

Edit, nawet obustronny bo przecież i tak traciłeś tego image’a kopiując legendę. Zmiana zasad i tu pomaga naprawić błąd gry pt. on dobrał 2 geisty, a ja jednego. Będzie uczciwiej: ja mam jednego i ty masz jednego – wygra ten kto jest lepszy, bądź ma inne karty, lepsze.

W limited znowu problem jest raczej znikomy więc nie ma co się rozpisywać. Co do legacy, podejrzewam, że tu też armageddonu nie będzie, bo powinny działać te same zależności co w innych formatach typu constructed (nie sądzę by sytuacja show and tell -> emrakul vs image była aż tak częsta), jednak ze względu na mój brak zgłębienia formatu zostawię tę kwestię komuś innemu.


Podsumowując, nie ma co płakać. Zmiany wymagają większej ilości kminienia i wymuszają bardziej proaktywną grę. Kończąc dodam jeszcze, że to nie jest gra gdzie mamy jedną armię, czy frakcję i z innych korzystać nie możemy. Tu gramy wszystkim więc jeśli coś naprawdę będzie cięższe do zabicia to grajcie tym i nie jęczcie, albo wymyślcie jak sobie z tym poradzić jedną z kilkuset innych kart w formacie. Zmian dot. keywordów i możliwości zagrywania landów nie poruszam, bo to jak pisałem temat bardziej dla sędziów.


– Bartys

Team Hive Mind


Bartłomiej „Bartys” Lewandowski – jest studentem prawa, pracuje przy ubezpieczeniach gospodarczych.

W MtG grał kiedyś (czasy Mirrodina i Kamigawy), lecz bez sukcesów. Następnie miał sporą przerwę od kart na rzecz Warhammera Fantasy Battle, miał też czteroletni epizod trenowania brazylijskiego jiu-jitsu. Przy wyjściu ISD wraz z kumplami wrócił do MtG. Od tamtego czasu gra co najmniej 2 turnieje tygodniowo, a jego ulubiony format to standard.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email